Mrs. Landry's Land of Learning

A place dedicated to learning for ALL students!

Daily 5 Book Study: Chapter 5

on July 13, 2015

Welcome back for the next chapter in Brenda from Primarily Inspired‘s awesome Daily 5 book study!  We are on Chapter 5: Launching Read to Self- The First Daily 5.  This chapter is being hosted by Jenny from Luckeyfrog’s Lilypad.

Daily 5 Book Study Chapter 5 Launching Daily 5

This is what tells you to do to get Daily 5 started.  It’s the first lessons for the first day of school.  After reading the whole chapter, I was like WHEW!  As I was reading, I was trying to see how the time segments actually worked with what they were saying to do.  Luckily, the back of the book are these awesome appendices and one includes a detailed sample schedule you could follow for the first days of school.  In the 90 minute reading time described, they crammed in so much!  I looked through it carefully, totally amazed at how they mapped it all out and realizing that it did indeed work.  Here is the low down:

  • Show 3 ways to read a book- read the pictures, read the words, retell the story
  • Introduce Read to Self using the 10 Steps to Independence (see this post for that chapter)
  • First practice session for Read to Self
  • I PICK good-fit books lesson- teaches students how to pick books for their book boxes using the following guidelines:
    • I select a book and look it over, inside and out.
    • Purpose: Why do I want to read it?
    • Interest: Does this interest me?
    • Comprehend: Do I understand what I am reading?
    • Know: Do I know most of the words?
  • Another practice session for Read to Self
  • Work on Writing foundation lesson- underline words you don’t know how to spell, and move on
  • Independent writing time
  • Read to Someone foundation lesson- check for understanding
  • Listen to Reading foundation lesson- set up for the technology
  • Word Work foundation lesson- set up and clean up of materials

I’ll say it again- WHEW!!  Now it was made clear that you may not get through all of this all in one day.  You may only get through the I PICK lesson.  And that’s totally okay.  But I’ve never done Daily 5.  So I have no idea how long things actually take or have any shortcuts/tips/tricks for making the first day work.  I’ll be learning this with my kiddos!

I also have another angle- I do have to follow my reading textbook.  We use Houghton Mifflin Journeys, Texas Edition.  We will be working on the Back to School lessons that first week.  So I’m going to work out where I’ll do Daily 5 lessons and where I’ll do Houghton Mifflin.  In the first chapter, the Sisters did say that this was a routine.  So I’m about to test that theory.  Also, I’m probably the only one on my campus to try this.  One other teammate of mine gave it a try while team teaching in 3rd grade, but it got too hard with having 2 classes in her room at one time.  She went back to Debbie Diller styled stations.  I’m on my own!

So, have you done Daily 5?  Do you have tips, tricks, shortcuts, or anything for that first day?  Have you had to implement Daily 5 while still following a set curriculum?  Please comment and share!  Help a sister out!

Happy Teaching!

Mrs. Landry

Leave a Reply

