Mrs. Landry's Land of Learning

A place dedicated to learning for ALL students!

Currently January

on January 3, 2014

Yep.  It’s January.  And I’ve been MIA for a while.  Let’s just say life took some unexpected turns both great and challenging and so several things normally on my list (like blogging) had to take a back seat for a while.  But I’m back (hopefully!) and starting the year out with Farley’s Currently!  Sooooo…

So let’s see…  Listening is pretty self-explanatory.  I’m up late and everyone else is sleeping.  Thankfully the husband doesn’t snore.  The dog on the other hand can really saw some logs!  Although tonight is a quiet night.  🙂

Loving- My husband has been working on his masters for the past 2 years and just before Christmas he finished everything completely.  Yay!!!!!  And he did it with excellent grades throughout while we dealt with some super challenges (i.e. our house- read here).  Double Yay!!!!!  Now my daughter and I can enjoy him again as a normal person and he can relax.  Triple Yay!!!!

Thinking- So I’ve got a lot of goals I want to accomplish this year.  Like most people at the start of the new year.  So I guess I need to start a list to help me out.  No problem there.  I like lists.  And crossing things off my lists as they get done.  🙂

Wanting- Need I say anything more?

Needing- Yeah…

Memory and/or Tradition- So my child asked Santa for a guitar.  So Santa got one that was pretty cheap from Toys R Us.  That’s when Santa discovered how cheap it was.  So what did Santa do?  Santa decided that a better one was needed.  Only problem, it was DAYS AWAY FROM CHRISTMAS!!!!  YIKES!!!!! So after much searching and thinking and questioning, Santa found a real ukelele that fit the bill and the child.  The look on her face when she opened that special gift told us that Santa hit the nail on the head.  Nice job Santa!!

Well there you have it!  You can go visit Farley to see other great Currently posts.  I’m hoping to be sticking around more and sharing all the ideas swimming in my head (that never really stopped) as well as just what’s been happening in the Land of Learning.  Until next time!

Happy Teaching!

5 responses to “Currently January

  1. Krystal says:

    I wish I had a magic wand too! That would be great. Sounds like your daughter enjoyed her Christmas present from Santa. Way to go! Here’s to hoping 2014 is a great year for you and your family 🙂 thanks for stopping by my blog too!

    good enough teacher

  2. Allie says:

    Woo hoo! Congratulations to your husband! That’s awesome! It sounds like your daughter’s Christmas morning was a success, and I love that! I have all of my goals for the year listed out too. Last year I started making a little notebook with my “one word” on the front for anything I wanted to write down during the year. And of course I made it cute! It worked really well, and I’m planning on doing it again this year! I like choosing a word, because then you don’t feel horrible if you fall off the bandwagon of resolutions, you just keep working at it!

    Happy New Year!

  3. Renee Dooly says:

    Wouldn’t a magic wand be nice? Good luck on crossing things off your list. It feels so go when you do!

    Renee
    Fantastic First Grade Froggies

  4. I have really put off my grading and lesson planning to the last minute! It’s so hard to get it done when all you want to do is relax… 🙂 Also, congrats to your husband! What a fantastic accomplishment!!

Leave a Reply

