Mrs. Landry's Land of Learning

A place dedicated to learning for ALL students!

I wanna talk about…ME!

on August 13, 2013

Yeah I know. I’ve been MIA for a while. The time moved too fast for me. But that just means that this is the perfect time to get on this Teacher Week 13 bandwagon and get back in the swing of things! So here’s the first one: (WARNING: Facts may be a bit random…correction…they WILL be random!)

1. I helped make a movie with Melanie Griffith and Michael Douglas. No joke. It’s called “Shining Through” and it was made in the early 90’s in Germany while we were stationed in Berlin. I was a stand-in for one of the characters. So I wasn’t in the movie. But my sister was! I know where she is but you wouldn’t know it’s her. Only brief glimpses but still cool!

2. I sing. Classically. I used to be quite the high screeching soprano. Time, lack of training, and acid reflux have cut down my range. But I can still sing. Classically. Love it too. Only really do it at church but I also have fun singing lullabies to my little one. ๐Ÿ™‚

3. Going along with that, I played flute in high school. Yes I was a band geek as well as a choir geek. Proud family lineage too! I went on to march in my college marching band. “The Boldest Sound from the Oldest Town” of Texas! GO JACKS!

4. Another tie-in. I love my college. It was some of the best 4 years of my life. I met some great friends there, my husband, and got to become a teacher. Totally awesome all around!

5. I’m the oldest of 5 children. 3 girls, 2 boys. Yes my mother needs continued prayers for her sanity. She really is a saint! Love you Mom!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

6. I was of legal age to drink alcohol for 3 days before I could even drive a car. Why do you ask? I turned 16 while stationed in Germany. So what? Well, the drinking age there is 16 and the driving age is 18. Yep. You read that right. They take their driving VERY seriously so that’s why. I turned 16 three days before we moved back to the States for good. So what did my family and I do on my birthday? We went to a local gast haus (restaurant) and my dad…bought me a beer!

7. I used to live just minutes and hours from the different places that “Sound of Music” was filmed in. The German Alps were my backyard view.

8. I learned to ski in those Alps. Haven’t done it since though. :/

9. I hiked around 80 miles in 10 days at Philmont Scout Ranch in New Mexico. I was a Venture Scout through the BSA and an opportunity came up for me to go with one sister and my mom. I’m so glad I went! It was a truly awesome experience! We saw bears, I almost sat on a rattlesnake (seriously), and I hiked the tallest peak faster than the rest of my crew. With a knee brace and trekking poles. Granted by the last day, I was in 2 knee braces (one on each knee). But again. Totally. Worth. It.

10. Chocolate is my lifeline. Without it, I can’t survive the school year. Or the summer. Or any time for that matter. It’s a separate food group for me. But funny thing? I don’t like dark chocolate. At all. Yuck. I give it to my husband every time. Luckily he loves it. So it all works out. ๐Ÿ™‚

Well there you have it! Go check out other great fun facts about other great teachers!

Happy Teaching!

3 responses to “I wanna talk about…ME!

  1. Kelly says:

    I can not sing – at all! LOL! I think it is so cool that you got to experience life in another country – I have never been outside of the US ever!

  2. Laura says:

    Wow ! What a wonderful and exciting life ! Thank you for sharing” ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

