Mrs. Landry's Land of Learning

A place dedicated to learning for ALL students!

Five for Friday…on a Sunday morning

on June 30, 2013

Well I’m a little late on this. On the verge of a lot late. But this is the last one of the summer so when I realized that I decided I needed to get going on this. So here we go!!

Just click the above button to go see other great blogs that have linked up! Now for picture number 1:

So I’ve started running again. I’m working for the ultimate goal of doing a half marathon but right now I’m just trying to get back into things after years of not running so it’s back to working towards a 5k. So right now I’m doing a combo of running and walking. Now remember I live in East Texas. Home of high heat AND humidity. Hence the sweaty nastiness of me. I had taken a picture of myself after my first run for my mom. After that, I just kept doing it. It’s like telling myself I can do this. Corny I know. But it works. Although, I ran on Thursday and forgot to take a picture of myself. This is from Monday. Morning. Yep. Humidity early in the morning. But at least the air is cool and I felt great!

So this week was VBS and I was the music leader. I taught the kiddos the songs, dances, and basically started and closed each day. I loved it! This was my stage. Top picture was on the first night. Bottom picture was on the last night. The wonderful set makers added a little something more each night and everyone loved it! I know I did!

So this is my baby. Isn’t she cute?! So VBS was in the evenings and we had a couple of playdates during the day. She always went to each playdate happy as you see there. And we when we left…totally crashed. 🙂 I just loved how she looked in her sunglasses!

So I was at Target in the dollar section (a teacher’s best friend!) when I saw these. I’m contemplating getting some in both colors as they match my room. I have some of the smaller tin buckets but not really enough for what I wanted- little trash pails for paper scraps when my kiddos had to cut things out. Rather than have them go back and forth to the trash can or recycle box, each group would have a bucket. The theory works but my smaller tin buckets don’t. I think I want these bigger plastic ones and find a new purpose for the others. I think I have a new item for my school supply list. Hmmmm…

So at VBS a nest of new baby birds was discovered! Every time we would go up to look at them they would start opening their beaks looking for food. So cute! And the kitten was 1 of 2 that popped up. Both were very friendly and loved following all the kids. Thankfully one of the families took them to their family farm to become mouse hunters. We didn’t want them to get hit by a car or anything. They really added to the whole VBS experience!

So there you have it! My week in a nutshell! I’m kind of glad this is the last Five for Friday until August as July is going to be boring in comparison. I’ve got nothing going. This is a good thing. I need to give more attention to this house. So anyways…

Happy Teaching!

2 responses to “Five for Friday…on a Sunday morning

  1. sarah says:

    I’m your newest follower thanks to the Five for Friday Linky. Way to go, getting back into running! I made the commitment to run the Chicago Marathon this year. Training in the heat and humidity is definitely a challenge! Good luck with your running!

    KinderCakes

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement! I used to run cross country in high school and really enjoyed it. Then I twisted a knee real bad in college and it was on and off after that. Now I’m determined to stick with it! Good luck with your training too! Thanks so much for stopping by and following me!!

Leave a Reply

