Mrs. Landry's Land of Learning

A place dedicated to learning for ALL students!

May 3 Five for Friday

on May 3, 2013

Well it’s Friday.  That means it’s time for…

YAY!!  Let’s get started!

Okay first up, I think my tea leaves were trying to tell me something.  I drink hot tea almost every morning and many times I don’t get to make it until I get to school.  Thankfully our new principal got us a Keurig for the office!!!  So anyways as I was checking BEACH Books and trying to eat my breakfast and drink my tea, I looked down and saw the smiley face.  And yes my Monday went pretty smooth!  🙂

Next up is our new classroom toy.  I finally got my act together and got the classroom iPad up and running for the kiddos.  They love it!!  I’m going to do a separate post on that later and I’ll go into better detail what the rules are all about.  But I wrote them out and went through them and let me tell you something…no problems so far!  They love this thing!  I love that I still have my personal iPad to use at my table while the kiddos in stations have one to use.  I’ll share pictures of them in action on my special iPad post later.  🙂

Thirdly, I decided it was time to really teach my kiddos how to write friendly letters.  So first I started with the book above.  One of my absolute favorites!!!!  I remember hearing my teacher read this in elementary school (wait…does that date me at all?!) and when I got into college I was determined to have it!  Now whenever I start my friendly letter unit, I always start with this book as it’s got so many examples of different types of letters.

Then I showed the kiddos how to write a letter as well as what the different parts are.  The above anchor chart was an inspiration from a pin I have on one of my boards.  Go here to see the pin.  Next week we’ll really get into the writing part of it.  I’ll post more on that as it develops.

Fourth up, I…finished…DIBELS!!!!  I finished up this week and I’m so glad all my reading benchmarks are done!  Next week we start our math benchmarks (AIMSWeb) but that’s not as tedious as listening to the same 3 stories 20 times.  Hence the chocolate.  Once I got to the last 3 kiddos, I used each section to keep me awake and alert.  Horrible I know but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.  😉

And last but not least I leave you with this cute little story by one of my kiddos.  He was at stations and was doing what looked like graphic organizers of some sort.  Then he called me over to show me what he did.  He remembered one of our stories from a while back in our reading program “The Tree” from Poppleton Forever.  Basically it’s a story about a pig that plants a tree and does everything to take care of it but it gets sick.  After trying to figure out what it needs to no avail, Poppleton asks a friend.  They figure out that the tree needs birds.  So he puts a bird feeder in the tree, the birds come, the tree gets better.  Well apparently this little loved that story because this is what his said (with this exact spellings too):

There were a few trees.

But Poplton hade to pick 1 uv his frafrits.

It was a hard disjn.

But he finly made his disjn.

The End

Cute right?!  He was so proud of what he did!  I loved the way he wrote it out.  It’s times like this that remind me why I do what I do!  I love my job!!!!

Happy Teaching!

2 responses to “May 3 Five for Friday

  1. Laura says:

    So darn cute !!!

Leave a Reply

