Mrs. Landry's Land of Learning

A place dedicated to learning for ALL students!

Currently May

on May 2, 2013

So May is here.  I’m happy.  The year is almost done.  I love my kiddos.  But they are becoming more and more fried.  We all need the summer.  But I’m going off track!  It’s the first of the month (okay technically the second) so let’s kick it off the right way with Farley’s Currently linky!  (click the link to see other great currently posts!)

Listening- I’m busy cutting out laminating for new stations and have my random shows that I DVR running while I work.  I’ve watched a plethora of shows the past 3 days.  It’s either this or music…

Loving- Summer is almost here.  While I’m not that excited about the extreme Texas heat I’m sure we’re going to get, it’s still exciting knowing that the season is in sight.  We are all needing a break right now.  We can survive!  20 days!

Thinking- I am soooooooo proud of my husband!  He’s been working hard at his full-time job, being a daddy, a husband, and a student.  This weekend, I’m proud to say he’s graduating with his master’s degree in psychology.  Another year of course work and then he’s ready for his state license.  He can do this!  (I can do this too!)  He’s done so well in his program- excellent grades and has been impressing his professors.  What I love is watching him realize how smart he is.  🙂  The teacher in me is beaming for him!  I just hope his professors realize the impact they are having on him (it’s all online so we’ll meet them for the first time this weekend).

Wanting- I really need to put the hair cut on the need part.  It’s so long.  I usually have short.  But I started growing it out for the weddings I was in the past year and then my husband begged me to grow it out more.  And I’ve always wanted to donate my hair to Locks for Love.  I’m needing the hair cut, but wanting a spa day.  🙂  I need a massage.

Needing- I feel like I’m doing more catch up than I am looking ahead.  Correction.  I am doing more catch up than looking ahead.  I’m still behind.  So this summer I’m working to fix that.  Fingers crossed.

Summer Bucket List- my house is still not fully unpacked as now we have to have tile floors replaced as they were damaged during renovations (this replacement really should have been done BEFORE we moved back in but the contractor got sneaky and I’m going to stop before I blow a gasket…).  So once they are done I can finally unpack everything.  My sister will be coming to help me paint and then the real fun of decorating can begin!  I’ve yet to go to the Houston Zoo and I’ve lived in the Houston area for over 6 years.  And I’ve been in and out of Houston as a kid.  What gives?  No clue.  Working to correct that.  🙂  And I M-I-S-S scrapbooking!  I’m part of a club that meets every month and I’ve not been able to go for quite some time as my husband has to study and I have to keep the child occupied.  So I’m hoping that maybe I can go once twice over the summer.  AND/OR I get the study cleaned up and be able to scrapbook at home.  So many projects await…Sigh…

So there you have it!  Tune back in soon!  I’ve got a freebie or 2 for you if you do!  😉

Happy Teaching!

7 responses to “Currently May

  1. Danielle says:

    It sounds like you’re going to have a full summer too! 🙂 Congratulations to your husband for all of his hard work. I also wanted to give you kudos for growing your hair out for Locks of Love. I have donated my hair several times, and it is such a rewarding experience to know that the hair is being made into wigs for cancer patients. My hair grows exceptionally fast, so each time I get it cut it’s over a foot long. It takes about a year to a year and a half to get it that long and then I have it cut short. 🙂 I enjoyed reading your “Currently” from Farley! 🙂
    -Danielle-
    Crayonbox Learning

    • Thank you for stopping by! I hope I have long enough hair to donate. Mine is real thick so the longer it gets the thicker it gets. This makes it hard to let it keep growing. But I believe whole heartedly in the cause and if not this time then another time I’ll achieve this goal. Fingers crossed I’m good to go!

  2. Just found you through currently. Love your blog – it’s so stinkin cute!
    cheers
    Sandra

    http://www.savvyteachingtips.blogspot.com

  3. Angelia says:

    I’m so behind, also! Ughh, can’t wait for summer. We just moved a few weeks ago, and I have a ton of unpacking to do still. 3 more weeks till summer and then I plan on tackling this house.

  4. Pam says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Congrats to your husband! I don’t know how people who are working full-time can also be a student too! Student teaching (which was only 20 weeks) was enough of that experience, I definitely wouldn’t want to go through that again. Such hard work!

    I also feel behind in my planning. But we’re almost done! You can do it! 🙂

    I am your newest follower. 🙂

    Pam
    Diary of a First Grade Teacher

Leave a Reply

