Mrs. Landry's Land of Learning

A place dedicated to learning for ALL students!

Still kicking over here!

on March 18, 2013

Hello!  I’m back!  So sorry!  I moved.  Yep.  We’re back in the house.  Thank goodness.  The apartment was about to drive us crazy.  But now it’s been issues with getting unpacked, finding our stuff, and fighting with the contractor to get some fixes done.  To anyone who does construction for a living…bless you.  I could never do the job.  Thankfully my husband is more than willing to do the arguing.  So needless to say I’ve been busy.

School didn’t stop for me just because I moved (although I did take 2 days off to get our stuff to the house).  We did a Dr. Seuss unit (can I say that?!) and had Stick Horse Rodeo (so cute!).  Yes I live in Texas.  🙂  I thought about trying to do a bunch of posts to catch things up.  But right now that’s a little too overwhelming to sort out.  So I”ll just pick up right here and keep going.  Keep moving forward, right?

Okay so this morning is my first day back from Spring Break.  I had a great time cleaning the house and trying to put it back together.  Yes I really did.  Throw in a night at the Houston Rodeo (Jake Owen was awesome!) and some good quality time with my little one and it was a great week.  We finished it off Saturday with some family time and getting to visit with our niece and new nephew.  He’s so cute!

So today I’m back in my room.  Things are not quite the same in so many ways.  You see before I left for Spring Break I did something.  Something that I had been itching to do for the past several weeks.  I rearranged my room.  Now I know y’all haven’t seen what my room was before.  So here is what I started the year out with:

Okay not bad.  I liked it.  But I had 2 whole group areas.  One in front of the calendar that I used in the morning.  The other in front of the word wall and big book stand.  While it worked for a time, I was itching to have my whole group be in one place and to be able to use my whiteboard even with the kiddos on the floor.  So I came up with this:

I’m excited to see how this works out!  Now as you can see I’m not done.  The blank chalk board will become my word wall.  I’ve also got to relabel where the kiddos go for stations.  But now I’m excited for the rest of the school year!  I’ve been recharged!  Nothing like a little spring cleaning to reset things.  😉  I’ll keep y’all posted as to how it works out as well as pictures of the finished product.  Tomorrow I’m hoping to share what I’m doing in stations this week.  I’m almost done getting that post organized.

Happy Teaching!

4 responses to “Still kicking over here!

  1. Meg says:

    Love the tennis balls on the chairs! I know…not what you were highlighting, but the memories of metal on tile screeching haunts me to this day….

    Yay for a new house AND a new classroom! Nice work.

    • Thank you!! Yes those tennis balls are a life saver. I have them for the noise, keep scuff marks on the floor to a minimum, and to keep them from sticking to the floors. This Texas humidity can make the wax just sticky enough that I have to kick furniture to make it move. Thanks for stopping by!!

  2. Laura says:

    Oh my goodness, you are so creative !!! And of course the BEST TEACHER EVER !! I know my daughter will remember you fondly for the rest of her life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

