Mrs. Landry's Land of Learning

A place dedicated to learning for ALL students!

It’s got me! It’s got me!

on August 20, 2012

So once again I’ve been so busy working that I have not been able to come up for air and post some progress.  But luckily I beat things back enough to get out for the weekend.  For the most part my room is done.  I’m just doing finishing touches really.  I start inservice tomorrow and the kiddos start arriving on the 27th.  I’m really excited to get going.  But before I could let myself, I just had to do one thing.  I knew what I was getting myself into when I started but I could not put it off anymore.  Doing the cute finishing touches would be my reward.  So I took a deep breath and jumped in with both feet.  I organized my filing cabinet.  AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!  (Cue screeching violins!)

Here’s what it looked like (although I forgot to take a true before picture so you’ll see the start of my work):

Hey wait?  Where did the stuff go?

It’s already being worked on here…

…and right here.

So where did all this come from?  Well when I changed to first grade 3 years ago, I inherited this room from a retiring teacher.  Need I say more?  Of course I wanted as much as she wanted to give me as I was new to the grade level.  I didn’t even have experience in it during my college days.  Well she had soooooooooooo much stuff that it took her several months to bring it all from home!  Yikes!  But she gave me her files.  I tried to get started on getting it sorted and figured out.  What did I learn?  One there was A LOT of stuff.  Two she had several copies of files.  She must have had a set of files at home AND at school.  No joke.  So I just made do with just cramming everything in the my two file cabinets and telling myself I would get to them gradually.  Yeah right.  Oh wait!  I found more in my storage spot!

So since I got my room well set up earlier than I normally do, I decided I couldn’t ignore things anymore.  I got to work.  It took about half the week to do all of reading, language arts, and math.  Science and social studies will have to happen as the year goes as we’ve done some reorganizing there.  Science is no problem.  It’s a small amount.  Social studies on the other hand.  Well…Take a look:

Yep.  2 crates full.  But this includes seasonal stuff.  I’m talking there are files called Spiders, Indians, Snowflakes, Penguins, Valentines Day, and so much more.  So this will happen as the year progresses.  It was easier to get it out of the cabinet completely.  As I go through it, the sorted files will go into the cabinet in order.  So I cleaned everything up and made it look so much better.  Here’s a look at one drawer:

See?  Much better!

So did you tackle a chore you’ve been putting off for a while?  Or did you do a complete overhaul?  Please share!

Happy teaching y’all!

Leave a Reply

